Office of Education

How We Serve

The Office of Education, directed by Hamlet Canosa, EdD., vice president for Education, functions to serve diverse needs of the K-16 education system of Columbia Union. Providing mission-driven, strategic consultations in program development; personnel; school accreditation; teacher certification; in addition to formulating system policies are among a host of services rendered to local conferences that comprise the Columbia Union. The Office of Education is wholly committed to advance the cause of Seventh-day Adventist education throughout our field.

Seventh-day Adventist Education in the Columbia Union

Within the seven states and the District of Columbia that comprise the Columbia Union, more than 500 teachers meet and pray daily with over 6000 students, Pre-K through 12th grade in 95 schools. This daily commitment to go beyond delivering quality education is the mission of the Columbia Union Education System which is a part of the North American Division of Seventh-day Adventists as well as the world-wide General Conference of Seventh-day Adventists.

The Columbia Union Education System consists of 74 K-8 schools, 12 K-10, 9 secondary schools, and 2 colleges Kettering College of Medical Arts, and Washington Adventist University.

All Columbia Union schools are accredited by the following accrediting agencies:
    

                  AAA - The Accrediting Association of Seventh-day Adventist Schools, Colleges and Universities
 www.adventistaccreditingassociation.org/
 
                  NCPSA - National Council for Private School Accreditation
                                      www.ncpsa.org
 
Where available, some also hold accreditation from:
 
MSA-CESS - Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Elementary and  Secondary Schools
www.msa-cess.org/
CAPE - Member of Council of American Private Education
                  www.capenet.org
 
The following local conferences of the Columbia Union are responsible for administration and direct supervision of the schools and teachers within their assigned territories:
 
Allegheny East Conference
PO Box 266
Pine Forge, PA 19548
610.326.4610
610.326.3946 Fax
www.visitaec.org/office-of-education-2/
Judy B. Chiles-Dent, Superintendent, jdent@myalleghenyeast.com
Gloria Perry, associate, gperry@myalleghenyeast.com
Cynthia Poole, associate, cpoole@myalleghenyeast.com
Number of Schools: 11
 
Allegheny West Conference
1339 Broad Street
Columbus, OH 43205
614.252.5271
614.252.3246 Fax
Brenda Arthurs, Interim Superintendent, bjarthurs@awconf.org
Number of Schools: 2
 
Chesapeake Conference
6600 Martin Road
Columbia, MD 21044
410.995.1910 or 301.596.5600
410.995.1434 Fax
http://www.ccosda.org
Jacqueline Messenger, Superintendent, jmessenger@ccosda.org
Mark Walker, Associate, mwalker@ccosda.org
Number of Schools: 11
 
Mountain View Conference
1400 Liberty Street
Parkersburg, WV 26101
304.442.4581
304.442.4582 Fax
http://www.mountainviewconference.org
Larry Boggess, Superintendent, lgjfb@juno.com
Cheryl Jacko, Associate, cheryljacko@usa.net
Donna Nicholas, Associate, dlnicholas1952@yahoo.com
Number of Schools: 8
 
New Jersey Conference
2160 Brunswick Avenue
Trenton, NJ 08648
609.392.7131
609.396.9273 Fax
http://www.njcsda.org
Sadrail Saint-Ulysse, 
Superintendent, saintulysse@njadventistschools.org
Number of Schools: 5
 
Ohio Conference
790 Fairgrounds Road
Mount Vernon, OH 43050
740.397.4665
740.397.1648 Fax
http://www.ohioadventist.org
Ken Knudsen, Superintendent, keknudsen@ohioadventist.org
Number of Schools: 11
 
Pennsylvania Conference
720 Museum Road
Reading, PA 19611
610.374.8331
610.374.9331 Fax
http://www.paconference.org
Dr. Jeff Bovee, VP for Education, jbovee@paconference.org
Richard Bianco, Associate Superintendent rabianco@paconference.org
Number of Schools: 13
 
Potomac Conference
606 Greenville Avenue
Staunton, VA 24401
540.886.0771 or 800.732.1844
http://www.pcsda.org
Keith Hallam, VP for Education, keithh@pcsda.org
Nancy Melashenko, Associate, nancym@pcsda.org
Number of Schools: 19
 
Link to Find a School - from the CU pull menu above