Office of Education

How We Serve

The Office of Education, directed by Hamlet Canosa, EdD., vice president for Education, functions to serve the diverse needs of ECECs/Pre-Ks and the K-16 education system of Columbia Union. Providing mission-driven, strategic consultations in program development; personnel; school accreditation; teacher certification; in addition to formulating system policies are among a host of services rendered to local conferences that comprise the Columbia Union. The Office of Education is wholly committed to advance the cause of Seventh-day Adventist education throughout our field.

About Hamlet Canosa

Hamlet Canosa, EdD, vice president for Education, has served in education ministry for nearly 35 years. He has taught on the elementary, secondary, and college levels; and has served as principal of Blue Mountain and Collegedale academies. He also served as vice president for Education for the Georgia-Cumberland Conference for five years.

Dr. Canosa currently serves as a trustee of both Washington Adventist University and Kettering College. In addition, he is a member of a variety of North American Division committees and the Cognitive Genesis Executive Committee.

He and his wife Kathy have four children and five grandchildren.

Getting in Touch

Hamlet Canosa, Vice President for Education
Tel: (301) 596-0800, ext. 550
FAX: (301) 596-6758
hcanosa@columbiaunion.net

 

Left to right: Ileana Espinosa, Jennifer Wakefield, Christine Greene, Donovan Ross, Ham Canosa, Evelyn Sullivan.

Ileana Espinosa, Associate Director of Education
ext. 552
iespinosa@columbiaunion.net

Donovan Ross, Associate Director of Education
ext. 554
dross@columbiaunion.net

Evelyn Sullivan, Associate Director for Early Childhood Education and Care and Pre-K
ext. 556
esullivan@columbiaunion.net

Christine Greene, Certification Registrar
ext. 555
cgreene@columbiaunion.net

Jennifer Wakefield, Administrative Assistant
ext. 551
jwakefield@columbiaunion.net 

 

Additional links on this topic:

Calendar

Directories

Education Blog Videos

General Info

PALS (Phonological Awareness Literacy Screening) Webinar Presentations

Powerpoint Presentations

Publications and Forms

Resources/Links

Teacher Certification