Associate Officers Elected

Story by Celeste Ryan Blyden
Photo by Gerry Chudleigh

Twenty associate officers were elected yesterday to serve at the General Conference level for the next five years in three areas—presidential, secretariat, and treasury, as follows:

Re-elected Vice Presidents: Lowell C. Cooper, Armando Miranda, Pardon K. Mwansa, Michael L. Ryan (pictured left) and Ella S. Simmons (pictured center). Newly elected: Delbert Baker (pictured right), Oakwood University president; Geoffrey G. Mbwana, East-Central Africa Division president; Benjamin D. Schoun, general field secretary; Artur A. Stele, president of the Moscow-based Euro-Asia Division. Retiring Vice Presidents: Mark A. Finley, Eugene Hsu and Gerry D. Karst.

Re-elected Associate Secretaries: Rosa T. Banks and Augustin Galicia; Newly elected: Robert S. Folkenberg Jr., Upper Columbia Conference president (who declined the call); Harald Wollan, secretary of the Trans-European Division; and John Thomas, coordinator, International Rescue and Relief program, Union College (Nebraska); Associate Secretary Homer W. Trecartin was promoted to undersecretary, replacing Larry Evans who was not re-elected; Retiring Associate Secretary: Claude Sabot.

Re-elected Undertreasurer: Juan R. Prestol; Re-elected Associate Treasurers: George O. Edwakhe, Daisy Orion and Roy E. Ryan; Newly elected: Raymond Wahlen II, special assistant to the GC Treasurer and director of SunPlus, the church accounting software.